

Wayne State University Department of

Neurological Surgery

Gurdjian-Thomas
Visiting Professor Lecture Series



*Murali Guthikonda, M.D., F.A.C.S.*L. Murray Thomas Professor & Chairman

Wayne State University Department of Neurological Surgery

Greetings! We are delighted to host Dr. Edward Laws as our Gurdjian-Thomas Visiting Professor, continuing our tradition of advancing neurosurgical education in our community. Our mission is to provide excellent patient care using evidence—based medicine and new and innovative technologies. Our department has 17 academic faculty members providing exceptional neurosurgical patient care, funded neuroscience research and neurosurgical education. Please join us for our Gurdjian-Thomas lecture.

Please join us on Friday afternoon for a lecture entitled

"Evolution and State of the Art in the Management of Pituitary Tumors"

Friday, July 9, 2010 2 pm to 4 pm Kresge Auditorium Harper Hospital 3990 John R Detroit, MI

Edward R. Laws, MD, FACS

Professor of Neurosurgery Director Neuro-Endocrine and Pituitary Programs Brigham and Women's Hospital Boston, MA

Dr. Laws is internationally renowned for his expertise in pituitary lesions, gliomas and



craniopharyngiomas. His vast experience in the management of pituitary tumors and related diseases and the use of intraoperative endoscopy to safely and effectively excise these tumors has been shared in over 400 scientific papers and book chapters.

Dr. Laws has dedicated much of his career to the treatment and research of pituitary tumors.



PHYSICIAN GROUP

Light fare will be provided and CME credits offered.

Please RSVP to Nancy Triggs, Medical Education Coordinator, at 313-745-4523 or ntriggs@med.wayne.edu

"The Wayne State University School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The Wayne State University School of Medicine designates this educational activity for a maximum of 2 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s) $^{\text{TM}}$. Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity."







Department of Neurological Surgery

^{ery} 313-831-0777 www.med.wayne.edu/neurosurgery

Clinical Faculty

Murali Guthikonda, MD, FACS

Chairman and Program Director Neurosurgery Cerebrovascular and Skull Base Surgery mguthikonda@med.wayne.edu

William Coplin, MD

Associate Professor Neurology and Neurosurgery Neurotrauma and Critical Care wcoplin@med.wayne.edu

Hazem Eltahawy, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor Neurosurgery Spine, Pain and Functional Neurosurgery heltahawy@med.wayne.edu

Steven Ham, DO

Assistant Professor Neurosurgery Chief of Pediatric Neurosurgery sham@med.wayne.edu

Mark Hornyak, MD

Assistant Professor Neurosurgery Cerebrovascular and Skull Base Surgery mhornyak@med.wayne.edu

Jay Jagannathan, MD

Assistant Professor Neurosurgery Spine, Radiosurgery and NeuroOncology jjaganna@med.wayne.edu

William Kupsky, MD

Professor
Pathology, Neurology and
Neurosurgery
wkupsky@med.wayne.edu

Sandeep Mittal, MD

Assistant Professor Neurosurgery Epilepsy Surgery and NeuroOncology smittal@med.wayne.edu

Sandra Narayanan, MD

Assistant Professor Neurosurgery and Neurology Stroke and Vascular Neurology Endovascular Neurosurgery and Interventional Neuroradiology snarayanan@med.wayne.edu

Sandeep Sood, MD

Associate Professor Neurosurgery Pediatric Neurosurgery ssood@med.wayne.edu

Andrew R. Xavier, MD

Assistant Professor Neurosurgery, Neurology and Radiology Stroke and Vascular Neurology Endovascular Neurosurgery and Interventional Neuroradiology axavier@med.wayne.edu

Research Faculty

Alana Conti, PhD Assistant Professor Neurosurgery aconti@med.wayne.edu

Yuchuan Ding, MD, PhD

Associate Professor Neurosurgery yding@med.wayne.edu

Quing H. Li, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor Neurosurgery qli@med.wayne.edu

Saroj Mathupala, PhD

Assistant Professor Neurosurgery smathupala@med.wayne.edu

Prahlad Parajuli, PhD Assistant Professor

Neurosurgery pparajuli@med.wayne.edu

Medical Education Faculty

Vicki M. Diaz, MSN, PhD Assistant Professor Neurosurgery Associate Program Director vdiaz@med.wayne.edu

Emeritus Faculty

L. Murray Thomas, MD Professor Emeritus Neurosurgery Chairman 1970-1989

Neurosurgery Residents

Todd B. Francis, MD Mark R. Hoeprich, MD Neelesh C. Nundkumar, MD David S. Hong, MD Kwasi Nyame, MD Neena Marupudi, MD Matthew Schreckinger, MD

Neurosurgery Nurses

Megan Curtis, APRN-BC Kelly Forcucci, RN Sharon Heide, RN, CNRN Danielle Hulsebus, ACNP-BC Maggie Jones, APRN-BC Pauline Kulwicki, MS, CNP, CNRN Karen Nichols, NP Angela Ransom, APRN Debbie Spoutz, RN, BSN