School of Medicine

Wayne State University School of Medicine

Murali Guthikonda Reappointed as Neurosurgery Chair

Murali Guthikonda, M.D., F.A.C.S., L. Murray Thomas Professor of Neurosurgery, was recently reappointed Chairman of the Neurosurgery Department and Program Director of the Neurosurgery Residency Program for Wayne State University. This five year appointment is his second confirmation in these positions.

Dr. Guthikonda has been with the Neurosurgery Department at Wayne State since 1993, where he initially was appointed as an Assistant Professor. He stepped into the role of interim chairman in 2000, and was named the permanent chair and program director in 2005. In 2008, Dr. Guthikonda was promoted to professor and became the L. Murray Thomas Professor of Neurosurgery.

Dr. Guthikonda specializes in minimally invasive cerebrovascular and skull base surgery. He has a special interest and is well-known for his skill in managing pituitary tumors and complex vascular lesions. He has authored over 40 articles on a variety of neurosurgical disorders, and has also been the key factor in expanding the roles of sub-specialties in the Neurosurgery Department at Wayne State University.

For more information on Dr. Guthikonda, you can view his faculty profile here. To schedule an appointment with Dr. Guthikonda, you can find contact information for the Neurosurgery Department here.